The Lost Boys

09/12/2018 07:51

Film: The Lost Boys

Year: 1987

Director: Joel Schumacher

Writer: Jan Fischer, James Jeremias and Jeffrey Boam

Starring: Jason Patric, Corey Haim and Dianne Wiest

 

Review:

To start off this review, I didn’t grow up with this film like most did so I don’t really have a lot of nostalgia for it. This is actually only my third viewing, with this time being in the theater on a 35mm print. The synopsis of this film is after moving into a new town, two brothers discover that the area is a haven for vampires.

The two brothers are Michael Emerson (Jason Patric) and Sam (Corey Haim). They are moving to Santa Clara to live with their Grandpa (Barnard Hughes). Their mother is also with them, Lucy (Dianne Wiest). It is during their move that Sam notices on the sign that it is Murder Capital of the World. They get a taste of the city as they head through it.

Michael and Sam head into town during a party on the boardwalk. This is where we first see the sweaty, shirtless sax player. Michael is entranced by a young woman, Star (Jami Gertz). He sees that she is hanging out a group of guys, led by David (Kiefer Sutherland). Sam on the other hand goes to a comic book store where he meets Edgar (Corey Feldman) and Alan Frog (Jamison Newlander). They are impressed by Sam’s knowledge of comic books and give him one about vampires. He tells them that he doesn’t like horror comics, but they warn him that this is for survival. They believe the town is overrun by vampires.

This is something I feel the film was very strong with. We slowly learn the truth of David and his friends as Michael starts to hang out with them. There is an odd dynamic though. Star seems like she is with David, but then immediately takes a liking to Michael. I personally am not a fan of that when films decide to go that route and have the characters fall in love too quickly.

Something else I really liked about this film was the dynamic of the Frog Brothers. They seem like they are hardcore vampire hunters, but they never really killed one. They just know the truth. I could see myself hanging out with them. I thought it was pretty fun and their dinner scene was pretty funny as well. Max (Ed Herrmann) is great during this scene. He is a man who hires Lucy and then asks her out. This is an interesting aspect to the film as well.

I also really like the name of the film and how it is incorporated in it. David and his crew are kind of similar to Peter Pan and his lost boys. They’re lacking guidance for the most part and kind of run wild. They also never grow up, just like The Lost Boys as well. I think it is pretty cool little thing to reference in the film. Going from this, there is the aspect of growing up and rebelling from your parents. Michael is at that stage in his life and he is butting heads with Lucy. She thinks it is hormones, but he really is dealing with some heavy things.

The film is paced quite well actually. We get introduced some unexplained phenomena that happens, but the common factor is clearly David and his friends. We kind of know they are supernatural. I do like how they downplay it though for a good portion of the film though. This does have a really solid reveal in it as well. It definitely is a film that upon a second viewing, you can pick up little things that tie back in. I really did like that about the film. There is also a funny reveal at the very end as well. I do like how the film ends and climax is solid for what is built up.

As for the acting, I thought it was really good. This is the height of the two Corey’s. I thought Haim was really good in this film, even though he does come off slightly immature. Feldman is doing a voice that he seems to be stuck doing when he is acting even today. I do like his character slightly better in this film of the two. Patric was really good as the brother who is in love, but knows that he is going through changes that he doesn’t want to. Sutherland is great in this film. He is such a badass. Gertz is also good. I do feel like she gets relegated to love interest, but she is smoking so I did enjoy when she was on screen. Newlander is also good as the other Frog Brother. Hughes and Herrmann are also both solid. I also need to shout-out to Alexander Winter who appears as Marco. I know him from Bill and Ted films and I thought it was cool to see him in this one.

Something strong for this film was the effects. I really like the look of the vampires in this film. Their eyes and fangs look good. The blood and gore effects are also solid. They don’t go over the top, but they do go far enough to make it quite believable. There is a great massacre scene in this film that I am a big fan of. This of course was done all practically which I am also all for.

The soundtrack for the film is also something that I really enjoy. The theme song for the film is so catchy and one of my favorite themes. The song that the Sax Man plays is also really good. The rest of the score fits the film for what they were going for and enhances the film in my opinion. I should also point out I like the us of the The Doors ‘People Are Strange’ song as well.

Now with that said, even though I didn’t grow up on this film, I am a big fan. I think that it has one of the better concepts for a vampire film out there. The incorporation of Peter Pan and the concept of The Lost Boys are cool. I think the film paces itself well to show us there is something supernatural going on, but the characters learn at a solid pace. I thought the film has some good reveals in it that enhance the story. The film builds at a good clip to a satisfying conclusion. The acting is solid across the board as well as the effects and soundtrack to the film. Now I might not have nostalgia for the film, but I can recognize that it is really good. I recommend seeing this film if you haven’t, regardless if you like horror or not.

 

My Rating: 9 out of 10