Plan C

10/02/2023 13:18

Film: Plan C

Year: 2023

Director: Tracy Droz Tragos

 

 

Review:

This is a documentary that I got the opportunity to check out thanks to Kim from Dominion3. The doc is from Level 33 Entertainment. I’ve seen work from them in horror. Now this doesn’t fall into that genre. There are horrific things that come from the subject here. I’m going to trend lightly and try to keep my personal beliefs to a minimum. Below is the synopsis as to why:

A secret grassroots organization persistently fights to expand access to abortion pills across the USA keeping hope alive during a global pandemic and the fall of Roe v. Wade.

Now a question I had in the wake of seeing this was I wonder how long the filmmaker followed these people and started doing this documentary. If they were just going to just follow them around and give a count of their struggles. The reason I bring this up is the pandemic made this extremely difficult to distribute this medication. It is interesting that I work in shipping logistics. The pandemic made my job harder when we couldn’t import materials or products. This is even worse when what you need came from China and India.

I am getting ahead of myself a bit though. For this, we learn about the woman who started this organization. We also get to meet people that help her. Not everyone is able to share their name as some go by aliases. There are even others that have their faces blurred and their voices altered. Part of this is that they don’t want to be prosecuted if they’re discovered. There are others as well that fear for their lives as well as their families if they are discovered. This made me both sad and angry. The reason here is that we shouldn’t treat people this way, even if they have beliefs different than ours. I’m going to equate this to being a sports fan, sending death threats to people you’re upset with or who think different than you should never be something that happens.

Then to circle back to what I was saying. This group had their issues and they were amplified when the pandemic shut everything down. This made it where places you couldn’t get an appointment as this wasn’t deemed necessary. Concessions were made to distribute medication without an appointment. With the fall of Roe v. Wade, that became a problem.

What I also like here is that we hear from women from different walks of life who have had an abortion. It isn’t limited to one race or economic background. Not everyone shares, but they use a statistic that 1 in 4 have had an abortion. It should make you think twice before saying different things. What I mean there is that person might not be handling what their decision was well and could be triggering to them knowing negative things.

I’m going to end this by saying that this is an interesting and well-made documentary. It is one-sided. I do want to point that out. It could have deepened this hearing from the other side of the argument. There was a lot of time and care put in to hide the identities of those that want their message out there, but fear of what could happen. I do like the different range of people interviewed, aside from my issue that led this off. This tugged at my heartstrings and made me a bit emotional at times.

I would say this is a documentary to check out no matter what side you fall on. It would be interesting to hear someone who is ‘pro-life’ watch this and hear what they think. I’d even be interested in having a discussion if someone who watched this holds those beliefs. I will say that those against abortion might hate this. As a film, this falls by. It has good cinematography and editing with clips and information placed in. I enjoyed my time here as much as one can watching something like this for sure.

 

My Rating: 8 out of 10