One Million Years B.C.

07/17/2018 07:36

Film: One Million Years B.C.

Year: 1966

Director: Don Chaffey

Writer: Michael Carreras

Starring: Raquel Welch, John Richardson and Percy Herbert

 

Review:

This was a film that I’ll admit; I put it on my list of to see films after watching The Shawshank Redemption. The reason for that is the poster of this film of its star, Raquel Welch, is iconic, so I wanted to see what it was all about. The official synopsis is prehistoric man Tumak is banished from his savage tribe and meets pretty Loana who belongs to a gentler coastal tribe, but he must fight caveman Payto to win her favor.

Now I will say that I did enjoy this film. I didn’t realize coming in that this film that this is a remake. I’m not sure how that film played out, but this is an interesting look at prehistoric man and how they try to survive. As the synopsis stated, we have Tumak (John Richardson) who goes hunting with his tribe. That night there is a scuffle where he is kicked out of the tribe, literally.

Originally I wasn’t going to write up a review as this film isn’t really horror. I changed my mind as there is are scenes of giant monsters that Tumak and others have to avoid. During his journey for where he should go, he runs into the tribe with Loana (Raquel Welch). They take him in and help heal him. He takes a liking to her and then kills a dinosaur when it attacks the tribe. This is to the displeasure of Payto (William Lyon Brown). Despite what he does, Tumak leaves this tribe and Loana comes with him.

I do have to say that this film is difficult to follow. There is no dialogue. It is only grunts and body language. I give the film credit for that, as it is tough to get that across what is trying to be conveyed using both of these only. The film does get a little bit boring for stretches as there isn’t a lot of exposition. There is just a lot of them walking, trying to find a place to go. This does create issues with building tension. I also had issues with the realism of the film, as man wasn’t around the same time as dinosaurs. It does kind of make me laugh as there is a giant turtle and iguana, which I don’t know if they existed in this era like the film is trying to convey. I did like that there were ape like humans as well, which I do believe did have cross-overs before the ‘Neanderthal’ men went extinct. I thought the ending was a little lackluster as well.

The acting was something that I kind of have already touched. I do give the actors credit as it is difficult to go get across what they need to without the ability to speak to where we can understand them. They do well though in conveying with their body language. Welch was gorgeous. Richardson was a pretty manly guy and conveyed that well. Brown comes off as being weaker and not happy about what is happening before him. I couldn’t blame him, but he only is strong with the other males behind him. Martine Beswick was also quite attractive. The rest of the cast round out the film well.

Effects for the film are interesting. They are done by Ray Harryhausen and are the stop-motion that he is known for. I did read there were some issues with the work he did with this one and didn’t seem to really put his all into it. I didn’t really have any issues outside that it was a little cheesy. Just using a real turtle for a giant one was odd. The iguana did make a little bit of sense and the dinosaur that attacked the village was good. It’s not his best, but it isn’t bad.

The score of the film was a little lacking though. It didn’t really stand out to me, but I will say that it did fit the scenes. I don’t really have anything negative to say, it just wasn’t memorable.

Now with that said, this film is enjoyable, but not great by any stretch. The concept is interesting as what life could have been back in this era. I do have issues though that dinosaurs like this did not co-exist at the same time as man. The film does have some pacing issues that I think stem for the film not really having much of a story. The effects were okay, but definitely not Harryhausen’s greatest. I thought the acting was good for what they needed. Welch was gorgeous and just need to give her another shout out for that. The score was fitting for what they needed, but it definitely doesn’t stand out. Overall I’d say this film was above average. It is fun and if this sounds interesting to give this a viewing.

 

My Rating: 6 out of 10