No One Lives

04/24/2018 07:20

Film: No One Lives

Year: 2012

Director: Ryûhei Kitamura

Writer: David Cohen

Starring: Luke Evans, Gary Grubbs and Adelaide Clemens

 

Review:

This film begins with a woman running through the woods. She is in a shirt and underwear. She jumps over a log and into broken glass. She then steps into a trap that suspends her upside from a tree. She can see the road she was going for. She has a piece of glass in her hand and carves ‘Emma Alive’ on a tree. This is a horror thriller that sets the tone early. The synopsis for the film is a gang of ruthless highway killers kidnap a wealthy couple traveling cross country only to shockingly discover that things are not what they seem.

I want to say that I came in not expecting much and there were some things about this that I liked. I thought the story was good. I wasn’t expecting what happened to be the storyline of the film and I thought that aspect was solid. Luke Evans played a great manic as well. Adelaide Clemens was okay in her role, but I got a little bit confused about her and her relationship to Evans. I think the movie progresses nicely, but there are some parts where it slows down a little too much.

What I didn’t like was there were way too many corny lines. I don’t know if that is something that is believed needs to be done for horror films or because this one is from WWE films. I can get past that, but there were some unrealistic things that happened as well that hurt its rating for me. Much of the acting wasn’t all that great and we really don’t get to know much about the characters before they are killed off.

With all that said, this is a decent movie that takes an overused genre, the slasher film, and does something different with it. It is enjoyable. The story is okay, the acting is decent and the death scenes are pretty good. There are some flaws that hurt this one though. A low running helps keep you interested as well. I would say if this sounds good, give it a chance. You can do better, but definitely not the worst.

 

My Rating: 5 out of 10