Night of the Living Dead: Resurrection

04/05/2018 07:36

Film: Night of the Living Dead: Resurrection

Year: 2012

Director: James Plumb

Writer: Andrew Jones and James Plumb

Starring: Sule Rimi, Kathy Saxondale and Lee Bane

 

Review:

This is a 2012 remake of the original Night of the Living Dead coming from the United Kingdom. The official synopsis is the deceased have risen with the instinct to feed on the living as a family is trapped during a zombie apocalypse in Wales.

There are a few things I liked about this version. I’m not opposed to the idea of this film as a remake of a classic taking place in Wales. I liked the references to George Romero’s masterpieces as well as the film paying homage to other classic American horror films.

I don’t mind the hoodlums and what they do. I also thought the zombie make-up was well done. Also enjoyed that it doesn’t follow the original Night of the Living Dead too much, but enough where you can tell what part of the film they are referencing.

There was a lot that I didn’t care for in this film though. I feel the acting was subpar. The quality of the film is not very good. The handicam scenes are way too shaky. The audio quality is also not very good and hard to hear.

I also get that it would hard to kill a family member if they are a zombie, but this film gets way too out of control about it. I felt the subplot of Lee Bane and Mel Stevens’ characters to be a little bit outrageous. She doesn’t look to be of age. If this is the case, he is not vilified as a sexual predator enough. Even so, it appears he has been having an ongoing relationship with her while he is married to her sister, Mandy who is played by Mel Stevens. Mandy is pregnant that and makes him a garbage human being.

It is all that realistic that the hoodlums survived with no car for as long as they do, in the dark and still got out to the farm house as fast as they did.

Now with that all said, I would avoid this film. It is a nice attempt to remake a classic, but falls quite a bit short. I would recommend seeing the original or the 1990 version, as they are both much better. The acting is subpar, the film is kind of boring and the story is pretty weak. There are some good parts though, in the make-up and the film references. This doesn’t make it worth your time though.

 

My Rating: 3 out of 10