Dodecahedron: The Story of the Second Stone

02/23/2024 09:34

Book: Dodecahedron: The Story of the Second Stone

Year: 2023

Writer: Emmanuel C. Lachlan

ISBN: 1739139763

ISBN13: 9781739139766

 

Review:

This is a book that I got the chance to read via critical copy thanks to the writer, Emmanuel C. Lachlan. I read the first book in the series, Ocellus: The Story of the Twelfth Stone. There was a bit of time between starting to read this and when it was sent to me that I forgot there was a book in between this and that one, as this is the third book in the series. What I like is that since I haven’t read book two, it didn’t affect me in enjoyment. I’m guessing there are elements that help for the overall story so my plan is to go back now. You can just jump in and read this story as a stand-alone, which I appreciate.

Synopsis: On the planet Lemtor, following the 10,000-year religion wars, Tanun, a studious yet strong-minded boy of 17, together with thousands of others, lives in a vast protective dome. Society inside the dome is strictly controlled by the Elders, who claim the outside is still poisonous.

On his seventeenth birthday, Tanun finds a mislaid access ring to the forbidden section of the library. In there he finds and reads banned books, but Enforcers catch him, and as punishment, the Elders banish him from the sphere with just a survival rucksack.

While trekking through an ancient railway tunnel, he discovers a glassy-black oval-shaped stone with a dodecahedron carved on one face. Once through the tunnel, a friendly alien shapeshifter (Cassièl) confronts Tanun, saying he has searched for the Dodecahedron stone for trillions of years. He explains evil shapeshifters (the KimMorii) stole and hid the stone and will know it has been discovered. He warns Tanun the KimMorii will soon invade and if they take the stone from him by force, he will die. Cassièl also reveals there are, in fact, millions of domes and the outside is no longer poisonous. Meanwhile, Tanun's younger brother (Chyke) has escaped from the dome and caught up with Tanun.

While Cassièl is leading the boys to a larger and friendlier dome, he reveals that Dodecahedron is the first to be found of thirteen special stones that form The Master Circle and he must retrieve all thirteen before the KimMorii re-establish The Master circle under their control, subjugating all universes. Tanun willingly offers Dodecahedron to Cassièl but discovers he cannot take it and must return to his universe to find out why.

Civil war between the dome alliances erupts, so after reaching the next dome, Tanun and Chyke start to train as warriors, not only to help protect the dome but also to keep Dodecahedron safe until Cassièl can retrieve it. Tanun trains in explosives and Chyke in espionage, but during their training, they both fall in love with their military trainer (Joor-Jen) which, apart from causing animosity between them, risks the safety of their new dome and each other.

Because of his spying, Enforcers from the old dome kidnap Chyke and incarcerate him in a tiny cell. Although explicitly forbidden, Tanun, along with Joor-Jen, sets off to rescue him.

Can Tanun and Joor-Jen successfully rescue Chyke? Can Tanun keep Dodecahedron safe until Cassièl solves the problem of retrieving it? Is it possible for Tanun and Chyke to resolve their differences over Joor-Jen? And will the KimMorii invasion change everything anyway?

Dodecahedron is huge in scope and deep in emotion and takes the reader into alternative universes, dramatic battles, difficult relationships, and lasting friendships.

Now this is an extended synopsis so I’ll dive right into my thoughts. Where I want to start is that I love how well our writer, Lachlan, can develop universes. This one is different from what I read in Ocellus. Going farther, I also enjoyed reading this one more since I settled in almost at once where in that first book, it took me a bit. To me, it feels like it is being assumed that you did read that one but doesn’t require it. This helps fill in that backstory or enough of what you need to know about why Cassièl is searching for the stones and what the end game is there. What is also good is that we get a bit of the KimMorii, but since we’re early into this new war, they’re secondary players.

What also is good here is that we’re getting a war that isn’t too different from what you’d find on Earth, just with science fiction elements mixed in. There are missiles, bow and arrows, knives and other similar weapons. We also have domes that function as force-fields and futuristic guns. There is espionage and kidnappings to figure out information. We also get the concept of double or even maybe a triple agent. This aspect helped to build tension for me. That also leads to difficult relationships. Chyke is such a great character here as he wants to help his brother Tanun, so he flees his dome. This is just the start of an ordeal for him.

I wanted to introduce that before getting more into it. He falls for Joor-Jen, but so does his brother. She was matched with the younger one so that complicates it. Even more than that, Chyke gets kidnapped so she worries about him. They’re apart so that makes her want him more. He is hardened when he comes back from the torture at the hands of the KimMorii. He also becomes secretive as he must figure out if he is spying for them or for his new friends. This also requires a tight rope for staying alive.

The writing here is good in bringing all these characters to life. There is Bento-Tor who I haven’t brought up. He gets close with Tanun when tragedy strikes all around him, taking out his twin sister and then his lover. Cassièl is interesting to me as well. He plays a smaller role in this book and there is just something about how he talks and does things that I never fully trust him. I don’t know if that is just what I bring from books and movies I’ve seen. He seems like he’s out to help, but there is just something off. There is also Joor-Jen who creates a love triangle between brothers. She did slightly annoy me as she feels like she wants her cake and to eat it too. This does help build tension.

What I’ll say is that I feel I’m a bit old as the reader here. I do think that this would be much more interesting for 14-year-olds and up. There are elements of coming-of-age. We also have teens dealing with things that are much heavier than they should be. I think that will help those readers who are dealing with things earlier than they should. This is well-written. I flew through it and it was hard to stop at times. I think that I prefer the original once I got into it. This helps to fill in more of the story. One gripe though, it ended a bit too abruptly for my liking. I don’t want that to dissuade you from reading this if it sounds interesting. It is worth it in my opinion.

 

My Rating: 7 out of 10