Army of Darkness

08/19/2015 18:43

Film: Army of Darkness

Year: 1992

Director: Sam Raimi

Writer: Sam Raimi and Ivan Raimi

Starring: Bruce Campbell, Embeth Davidtz and Marcus Gilbert

 

Review:

This film begins with a voice-over narration of the main character Ash, who is played by Bruce Campbell. We learn that he is currently a slave in the 1300s. He didn’t start out like this though. He is from future and he took his girlfriend Linda, who is played by Bridget Fonda, to a cabin in the woods. The problem though is that an archeologist used this house to research the Necronomicon, translated to the book of the dead. He fills us in with what was important from the previous film. Fonda is taken, the dark force gets into his hand and he cuts it off. He has rigged a chainsaw to fit to his stump. A portal then opens sending him, a shotgun, his chainsaw and his car into the past.

I have to say that I loved watching this movie growing up. This movie to me has a great blend of horror and comedy. Campbell is great in his role, as that macho, jerk, hero, which is different from the first film of the series. He has a lot of great one-liners in this film and there are even more throughout by others. I love the concept of this film and the story as well. It might be a little bit outrageous, but that is what makes it great.

With it being part comedy and as outrageous as it is, there are some things that are not realistic. You do have to come to expect it though out of a film like this. Like how many shotgun shells did Campbell bring into the past? How is he working the chainsaw on his arm? We could not make fake limbs and hands until after this film was made, but he constructed one in the 1300s? If you ignore these facts and just enjoy this film, then I think you will have fun. I mean it is absurd that a man would go into the past to begin with.

The editing of the film is good. The film moves along at a good pace and helps to build the tension that is needed for the major battle that ends the film. It also gives us the growth of Ash, which I think is important. The ending I thought is good and glad they went with this one instead of the other.

I think the creatures in this film look good and even though they don’t always look real, they make up for what happens on screen. The blood looks real, but can be a bit over the top, but I think you need to come in expecting that. The skeletons are stop motion for the most part and I grew up on films like that. I’m a fan of them.

The last thing to touch on would be the score of the film, which I think is good. It doesn’t stand out as the greatest I’ve heard, but it fits the scenes. I do have to say though, I’m a huge fan of Danny Elfman’s theme for the film. I recognize it immediately and it is definitely a fun song.

With that said, I would highly recommend this film. I would not say to come into this one expecting to be scared. If that is what you want, I would recommend Evil Dead or its sequel. This one is more of a comedy. The action though is good, the horror elements are great, the acting is solid and this is just a fun film to watch. It is kind of absurd if you look at it realistically, but a film like this needs to just be enjoyed.

 

My Rating: 9 out of 10